WHAT ARE THE REQUIREMENTS FOR
MANUFACTURERS? (TITLE 49 U.S.C. § 30111):

Title 49 U.S.C. § 30111 authorizes NHTSA to issue
safety standards for new motor vehicles and new
motor vehicle equipment. All motor vehicles and
items of motor vehicle equipment manufactured or
imported for sale in the United States must comply
with all applicable FMVSS. Certain motor vehicles
must also comply with regulations at 49 C.F.R. &
541, Theft Prevention and § 581, Bumper Standard.

GENERAL REQUIREMENTS (49 C.F.R. § 565.4):

Each vehicle manufactured in one stage shall have
a VIN that is assigned by the manufacturer. Each
vehicle manufactured in more than one stage shall
have a VIN assigned by the incomplete vehicle
manufacturer. Each VIN shall consist of seventeen
(17) characters which conforms to U.S. standards.

PURPOSE (49 C.F.R. § 567.1):

The purpose of this part is to specify the content
and location of, and other requirements for, the
certification label or tag to be affixed to

motor vehicles.

REQUIREMENTS FOR MANUFACTURERS OF
MOTOR VEHICLES (49 C.F.R. § 567.4):

Each manufacturer of motor vehicles shall affix to
each vehicle a label, of the type and in the manner
described below, containing the statements
specified in paragraph (g) of this section.

The label shall, unless riveted, be permanently
affixed in such a manner that it cannot be removed
without destroying or defacing it. The location

of the label shall be such that it is easily readable
without moving any part of the vehicle except an
outer door.

The lettering on the label shall be of a color that
contrasts with the background of the label. The
label shall contain the following statement in the
English language “This vehicle conforms to all
applicable Federal motor vehicle safety standards
in effect on the date of manufacture shown above.
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For further guidance, consider contacting the
License & Theft Bureau office nearest to you.

North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles

North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles




WHAT IS A LOW-SPEED VEHICLE (LSV)?

N.C. General Statutes, Chapter 20-4.01 (27)(9),
states a low-speed vehicle is a four-wheeled electric
vehicle whose top speed is greater than 20 miles per
hour but less than 25 miles per hour. A Golf Cart on
the other hand, is defined in N.C. General Statutes,
Chapter 20-4.01 (12a) as a vehicle designed and
manufactured for operation on a golf course for

sporting or recreational purposes and that is not
capable of exceeding speeds of 20 miles per hour.

HOW MUCH DOES IT T =
COST TO LICENSE MY LSV?

N.C. General Statutes Chapter 20-87 (12) states
the fee for a low-speed vehicle is the same as the
fee for private passenger vehicles of not more than
15 passengers.

CAN | REGISTER MY GOLF CART?

No. N.C. General Statutes Chapter 20-54 (8) states
the Division shall refuse registration or issuance of a
certificate of title or any transfer of registration if the
vehicle is a golf cart or utility vehicle.

ARE THERE ANY EXCEPTIONS TO WHERE | CAN
OPERATE MY GOLF CART?

Yes. Some municipalities have been authorized by the
General Assembly to regulate the operation of golf
carts and all terrain vehicles. You will need to contact
the local government in your area to determine if they
have been authorized. If authorized, ask what criteria
is stipulated, but remember, this does not mean that
NCDMYV can license or title your golf cart.

CAN | RETROFIT MY GOLF CART TO MEET
LSV REQUIREMENTS?

No, you cannot. This can only be accomplished
through a manufacturer that has been licensed by
the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
(NHTSA) to build a LSV. You can locate a licensed
manufacturer through the NHTSA Website.

WHERE CAN | OPERATE MY LSV AND WHAT
EQUIPMENT IS REQUIRED?

N.C. General Statutes Chapter 20-121.1 governs the
operation of a low-speed vehicle on certain roadways
as well as required equipment. The operation of

a low-speed vehicle is authorized with the

following restrictions:

1. A low-speed vehicle may be operated only on
streets and highways where the posted speed limit
is 35 miles per hour or less...This subdivision does
not prohibit a low-speed vehicle... from crossing a
road or street at an intersection where the road or
street being crossed has a posted speed limit of
more than 35 miles per hour.

2. A low-speed vehicle... shall be equipped with
headlamps, stop lamps, turn signal lamps,
tail lamps, reflex reflectors, parking brakes,
rearview mirrors, windshields, windshield
wipers, speedometer, seat belts, and a vehicle
identification number. Any such required
equipment shall be maintained in proper
working order.

3. A low-speed vehicle... shall be registered and
insured in accordance with G.S. 20-50 and G.S.
20-3009.

4. Notwithstanding the provisions of any other
subdivision of this section, the Department of
Transportation may prohibit the operation of
low-speed vehicles...on any road or highway if it
determines that the prohibition is necessary in the
interest of safety.

5. Low-speed vehicles must comply with the safety
standards in 49 C.F.R. § 571.500.

Scan for more Information

nhtsa.gov ncdot.gov/dmv/title-
registration/vehicle/Pages/

vehicle-types.aspx

WHAT EXACTLY IS 49 C.F.R. 571.500?

49 C.F.R. § 571.500 is Section 49 of the Code of
Federal Regulations and Part 571.500 which specifies
what equipment must be present and what the braking
and crash test requirements are for a LSV.

STANDARD NO. 500; LOW-SPEED VEHICLE
Scope:

This standard specifies requirements for
low-speed vehicles.

Purpose:

The purpose of this standard is to ensure that low-
speed vehicles operated on the public streets, roads,
and highways are equipped with the minimum motor
vehicle equipment appropriate for motor

vehicle safety.

Applicability:
This standard applies to low-speed vehicles.

Requirements:

(@) When tested in accordance with test conditions the
maximum speed attainable in 1.6 km (1 mile) by each
low-speed vehicle shall not more than 40 kilometers
per hour (25 miles per hour).

(b) Each low-speed vehicle shall be equipped with:
Headlamps,

Front and rear turn signal lamps,

Taillamps,

Stop lamps,
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Reflex reflectors: one red on each side as
far to the rear as practicable, and one
red on the rear,

6. An exterior mirror mounted on the driver’s side
of the vehicle and either an exterior mirror mounted
on the passenger’s side of the vehicle or an
interior mirror,

7. A parking brake,

8. A windshield that conforms to the Federal Motor
Vehicle Safety Standard on glazing materials (49
CFR 571.205 - ANSI/SAE Z26.1-1996 specifications
for either AS-1or AS-4 glazing)

9. A VIN that conforms to the requirements of part 565
Vehicle Identification Number of this chapter, and

10. A Type 1or Type 2 seat belt assembly conforming
to Sec. 571.2009 of this part, Federal Motor Vehicle
Safety Standard No. 209, Seat belt assemblies,
installed at each designated seating position.

1. Low-speed vehicles shall comply with the
rear visibility requirements specified in
paragraphs S6.2 of FMVSS No. 111.

12. An alert sound as required by § 571.141.



