

MEDICAL CERTIFICATION FOR APPLICATION & RENEWAL OF DISABILITY PARKING PLACARD

North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles 3148

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27697-3148

Application instructions:

- 1. Applicant must select the number of placards desired. (Limit of two per applicant.)
- $2. \ Applicant \ must \ complete \ and \ sign \ only \ the \ applicant \ section.$
 - Parent may sign for minors.
 - If signing with a Power of Attorney, a certified copy must be attached or shown at the time of issuance.
- 3. Medical provider must complete and sign the medical provider's section if applicable or present documentation from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

Application and fee (\$5.00 per placard) can be taken to your local License Plate A allow 3-4 weeks to receive your placard. Medical recertification not required for persons 80 years of age or older at the time		If mailed to the address above,	please
S. Medical recentification not required for persons of years of age of older at the time of renewal. APPLICANT SECTION			
I would like: ONE placard \$5.00	TWO placards \$	610.00	
APPLICANT'S NC DRIVER LICENSE / ID NUMBER	APPLICANT'S/ORGANIZATION'S PRINTED NAME		
STREET ADDRESS			
CITY	STATE	ZIP CODE	COUNTY
MAILING ADDRESS IF DIFFERENT FROM ABOVE	•	•	_
PHONE NUMBER	APPLICANT'S/ORGANIZATION REPRESENTATIVE'S SIGNATURE		
MEDICAL PROVIDE	R'S SECTION		
Disability parking placards and license plates are governed by the Motor Vehicle Laws	s of North Carolina General S	atute Chapter 20, Article	
2A. Afflicted, Disabled or Handicapped Persons. G. S. 20-37.5 Definitions (2) "Handicapped" shall mean a person with a mobility impairment who, as			
determined by a licensed medical provider: (check all that apply)		, ,	
The medical provider certifies that the applicant qualifies for	or one of the parking p	acards listed below: (ci	rcle one)
Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest.			
Cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive device.			
Is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person's forced (respi	iratory) expiratory volume of o	ne second, when measured by	spirometry, is
less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on r	room air at rest.		
Uses portable oxygen.			
Has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person's functional limitations a	are classified in severity as Cl	ass III or Class IV according to	
standards set by the American Heart Association.			
Is severely limited in their ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or order is totally blind or whose vision with glasses is so defective as to prevent the particles are a licensed ophthalmologist, optometrist, or the Division of Services for the E	performance of ordinary activ	ty for which eyesight is essentia	al, as certified by
1. Disability Parking Placard- Placard issued for 5 years and requires medical provide	der recertification upon renev	val.	
Temporary Disability Parking Placard - Placard issued for 1 to 6 months then example and requires recertification from a medical provider. 1 2	xpires. If needed beyond exp 3 4 5	ration a new application must b	e completed
Temporary placard expiration in months (chose one):			
3. Total and Permanent Disability Parking Placard – Placard issued for 5 years an	nd does not require medical pr	ovider recertification upon rene	wal.
MEDICAL PROVIDER'S SIGNATURE	MEDICAL PROVIDER	'S ADDRESS	
MEDICAL PROVIDER'S PRINTED NAME	MEDICAL PROVIDER	'S PHONE NUMBER	DATE
MEDICAL PROVIDER'S LICENSE NUMBER	PATIENT'S PRINTED	NAME	

Authorized Medical Certifiers

Medical certification and recertification requirements for handicapped parking privileges must be satisfied by the certification of a licensed physician, a licensed physician assistant, a licensed nurse practitioner, a licensed ophthalmologist, a licensed optometrist or the Division of Services for the Blind or by a disability determination by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs that the applicant is handicapped.

For an initial application for temporary placard only, the certification that the applicant is handicapped may be made by a licensed certified nurse midwife.

Disability Parking Placards

A licensed medical provider certifies that the applicant is a person with an affliction, disability or handicap defined under G.S. 20-37.5. The Disability Parking Placard is issued for five years and requires a medical provider's recertification upon re-issuance to continue parking in disability accessible areas. Applicants will be mailed a renewal application to be re-certified by their medical provider. Applicants may renew their Disability Parking Placard up to 90 days prior to the expiration date of the placard.

Temporary Disability Parking Placards

A licensed medical provider certifies that the applicant is a person with an affliction, disability or handicap defined under G.S. 20-37.5. The Temporary Disability Parking Placard is issued for a period of one to six months. If an extension is needed beyond the expiration date, a new application with medical provider's re-certification will be required. Upon expiration, Temporary Disability Parking Placards should be destroyed.

Total and Permanent Disability Parking Placards

A licensed medical provider certifies that the applicant is a person with an affliction, disability or handicap defined under G.S. 20-37.5 and is of a total and permanent nature. The Total and Permanent Disability Parking Placard is issued for five years and does not require a medical provider's re-certification upon re-issuance to continue parking in disability accessible areas. Applicants will be mailed a renewal application. Applicants may renew their Total and Permanent Disability Parking Placard up to 90 days prior to the expiration date of the placard.

Parking Privileges for Handicapped Drivers and Passengers

G. S. 20-37.6 (a) General Parking – Any vehicle that is driven by or is transporting a person who is handicapped and that displays a distinguishing license plate, a removable windshield placard, or a temporary removable windshield placard may be parked for unlimited periods in parking zones restricted as to the length of time parking is permitted. This provision has no application to those zones or during times in which the stopping, parking, or standing of all vehicles is prohibited or which are reserved for special types of vehicles. Any qualifying vehicle may park in spaces designated as restricted to vehicles driven by or transporting the handicapped.

Rules that govern the Parking Placard for the Afflicted, Disabled or Handicapped Person

- The placard is portable from one vehicle to another.
- Hang the placard from the rear view mirror or place on the driver's side dash if there is no rear view mirror.
- The placard registration card must remain with each placard while in use.
- The fee is \$25.50 to replace the registration card for your placard if it becomes lost.
- The fee to replace a lost/stolen placard itself is \$5.00.
- · Damaged placards will be replaced at no fee.
- Any organization certified by State Vocational Rehabilitation Agency that regularly transports handicapped persons may apply. G. S. 20-37.6 (c)

www.ncdot.gov/dmv