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NC FIRST Commission Survey:  
18 Percent Favor Weight-Based Fees

Which new funding stream would you like to 
be considered by the NC FIRST Commission? 



NC FIRST Commission Survey: 
Combine Weight and Miles Traveled?

“The fairest fee will be a combination of miles traveled and weight, as 
it will best represent the total damage to the road each user creates.”

“I’d suggest a combination of a weight based fee and 
the annual miles traveled. … This is a more objective 

and fair method of funding infrastructure.”


“Vehicle weight and miles traveled.  
Should be charged like electricity——per usage.” 

“An annual ton-mile tax would tax users in proportion to their 
costs imposed on the system. It is a fair user fee which applies to 

all transportation energy sources.” 



What Existing Revenues in the States 
Take Vehicle Weight into Account?

Heavy Trucks Passenger Vehicles
 

§  Registration fees based on weight  

§  Oversize/overweight permit fees 

§  Overweight truck taxes 

§  Fines for size and weight violations 

§  Annual heavy vehicle impact fees 

§  Weight-distance taxes 

 

§  Registration fees or surcharges 

 

§  State vehicle weight taxes 



Registration fees based on weight 
§  Nearly all states 

Oversize/overweight permit fees 
§  At least 35 states 

Overweight truck taxes 
§  Mississippi 

Fines for size and weight violations 
§  Maine, Wisconsin 

Annual heavy vehicle impact fees 
§  Georgia 

Weight-Based State Revenue Sources:  
Heavy Trucks

* Also: weight-distance 
taxes (based on   
both weight and 
miles traveled)



Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT) 
§  Annual $100 to $550 tax on trucks registered as operating at 55,000 lbs.+  

§  Generated more than $1.2 billion for the Highway Trust Fund in FY 2018 

Federal Revenues Also Include a 
Weight-Based Tax on Heavy Trucks



Why the Focus on Heavy Trucks?



Registration fees or surcharges 
§  At least 16 states 

Weight-Based State Revenue Sources:  
Passenger Vehicles



State vehicle weight taxes 
§  Hawaii (applies to all vehicles, but rate flattens over 10,000 lbs.) 

Weight-Based State Revenue Sources:  
Heavy Trucks and Passenger Vehicles



State Revenue Sources Based on  
Both Weight and Miles Traveled

Weight-distance taxes for heavy trucks 
§  Kentucky, New Mexico, New York, Oregon (and international models) 

But not current mileage-based fees for other vehicles 
§  Oregon and Utah’s voluntary programs charge by distance only 

§  (Note: New Zealand uses many factors, but rate flattens under 3.5 tonnes) 



State Revenue Sources Based on  
Both Weight and Miles Traveled

State Weight-Distance Tax Rates for Commercial Trucks 
 

 
Kentucky 

New Mexico 

Cents  
per Mile 

Gross Weight  
(Thousands of Pounds) 

Cents  
per Mile 

Gross Weight  
(Thousands of Pounds) 

Source: CBO, 2019 

New York*

Oregon 

Cents  
per Mile 

Gross Weight  
(Thousands of Pounds) 

Cents  
per Mile 

Gross Weight  
(Thousands of Pounds) 

* New York offers a choice of two rate schedules. See CBO (2019) for details. 



Heavy trucks 
§  Registration fees based on weight and indexed to inflation 

§  Oversize/overweight permit fees (in some circumstances) 

Passenger vehicles 
§  None identified 

 

Which of These Approaches Does 
North Carolina Use Now?



vs. 

vs. 

Do Gas Taxes Work as a Proxy for 
Vehicle Weight and Miles Traveled?



What Details Would Need 
to Be Considered?

Tax base 
§  Which vehicles would be subject to a weight-based tax or fee? 

Design and rate structure 
§  What kind of tax or fee would it be?  

§  What would the rates be for different vehicle weights or axle weights? 

§  Would other factors be included, such as vehicle type or miles traveled? 

§  What other impacts might these details have (e.g., on equity, relationship 
to road usage or wear-and-tear, user behavior, revenues generated)? 

Assessment and payment methods 
§  How and when would the tax or fee be assessed? Paid? Enforced? 

§  How might these details affect administrative costs and net revenues? 
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