

Board of Directors – Full Board Meeting Minutes

Date: February 6, 2020 @ 10:30 am

Location: NCDOT (6th floor Board Room) 1 S. Wilmington St. Raleigh NC 27601

Attendance

Members Present	Secretary Trogdon, Chair (joined 11:00 AM) Perry Safran, Vice Chair Robert Teer, Montell Irvin, James Walker, Jim Crawford, Scott Aman
Members Present Via Phone	
Members Absent	Charles Travis

Welcome, Introductions – Perry Safran, Vice Chair

Discussion Summary

Vice Chairman Perry Safran opened the meeting with a brief welcome and asked those in attendance to state their names.

Actions Taken

Information only, no action required

Swearing In of New Members – The Honorable Cheri Beasley, Chief Justice

Discussion Summary

Vice Chairman Perry Safran called the Honorable Cheri Beasley forward to swear in new board members and reappoint members. Honorable Cheri Beasley read each member the oath and duties of board members and took record of their signatures.

Vice Chair Safran thanked Chief Justice Beasley for her time and welcomed new and reappointed members.

Actions Taken

Ms. Mary N. Clayton and Mr. Sam Hunt IV were sworn in as New Members to the NC Turnpike Authority Board of Directors.

Mr. Robert Teer Jr. and Mr. Montell Irvin, PE were reappointed to the NC Turnpike Authority Board of Directors.

Call to Order, Declaration of Quorum, Ethics Statement Review – Perry Safran, Vice Chair

Discussion Summary

Vice Chairman Perry Safran called the meeting to order by declaring quorum and reviewing the Ethics Declaration and Abstention form with Board members.

Actions Taken

Information only, no action required

Approval of November 13, 2019 Meeting Minutes – Perry Safran, Vice Chair

Discussion Summary

Vice Chairman Perry Safran noted everyone received a copy of the meeting minutes prior to the meeting and announced he would accept a motion to approve the November 13, 2019 meeting minutes as written.

Actions Taken

The November 13, 2019 Board of Directors meeting minutes were approved unanimously upon a motion by Mr. Robert Teer, seconded by Mr. Montell Irvin.

Approval of closed session meeting minutes from October 31, 2019 meetings –

Perry Safran, Vice Chair

Discussion Summary

Vice Chairman Perry Safran noted everyone received a copy of the closed session meeting minutes prior to the meeting and announced he would accept a motion to approve the closed session meeting minutes from the October 31, 2019 meeting as written

Actions Taken

The closed session meeting minutes from the October 31, 2019 meeting were approved unanimously upon a motion by Mr. Scott Aman seconded by Mr. Robert Teer.

Operations Committee Report – Montell Irvin, Operations Committee Chair

Discussion Summary

Mr. Montell Irvin updated the board with a report on the operations committee meetings that have been held since the last Board of Directors meeting November.

Actions Taken

Information only, no action required.

Finance Committee Report – Robert Teer, Finance Committee Chair

Discussion Summary

Mr. Robert Teer updated the board with a report on the finance committee meetings that have been held since the last Board of Directors meeting November.

Actions Taken

Information only, no action required

Finance & Budget Update – David Roy, Director of Finance & Budget

Discussion Summary

Mr. David Roy gave an update on Turnpike Finance & Budget.

Actions Taken

Information only, no action required.

Toll Technology Update – Systems Upgrade Preview Manish Chourey, Chief Technology Officer Kristen Pearce, Back Office Systems Manager

Discussion Summary

Manish Chourey and Kristen Pearce presented the board with an update on Toll Technology, which included and a preview of the back office systems upgrade.

Mr. Jim Walker asked for a breakdown of tractor trailer usage on Monroe Expressway. Mr. Chourey stated that he would share that report with board members.

Actions Taken

Information only, no action required.

Roadway Operations Update – Dennis Jernigan, PE, Director of Highway Operations

Discussion Summary

Mr. Dennis Jernigan updated the board on Roadway operations, which included traffic volume and maintenance rating program updates.

Actions Taken

Information only, no action required.

Chief Engineer's Update – Turnpike Authority Projects, C540 Construction Update Rodger Rochelle, PE, Chief Engineer

Discussion Summary

Mr. Rodger Rochelle presented the board of directors with an update on all Turnpike Authority projects and concluded with a Complete 540 Construction Update.

Mr. Montell Irvin stated that he attended the US 74 Public meeting, and wished to commend the staff for a successful meeting.

Actions Taken

Information only, no action required.

Communications & Public Relations Update – Kimberlee Poulton, Public Involvement Director Logen Hodges, Public Involvement Representative

Discussion Summary

Ms. Kimberlee Poulton and Mr. Logen Hodges provided the board with an update on the current and upcoming Communications and Public relations efforts of the Turnpike Communications team.

Actions Taken

Information only, no action required.

Amended & Restated Turnpike Authority Board of Directors Ethics Policy –

Ann Dishong, Governance Ebony Pittman, Assistant Attorney General

Discussion Summary

Chairman Perry Safran stated that the Amended and Restated Ethics Policy for the Turnpike Board of Directors was distributed prior to the meeting and is also located in their board books. He asked for any questions for Ann Dishong or Ebony Pittman.

Chairman Safran asked for a motion to approve the amended and restated ethics policy as distributed.

Actions Taken

The Amended & Restated Turnpike Authority Board of Directors Ethics Policy was adopted by motion from Mr. Robert Teer, seconded by Mr. Scott Aman.

Closing Comments & Adjournment -

Perry Safran, Vice Chair

Discussion Summary

Vice Chairman Perry Safran announced that the end of the agenda had been reached and asked for any additional questions or comments.

Executive Director JJ Eden awarded David Roy and Kate Trimble a Turnpike Excellence Award for their hard work and dedication to the Turnpike Authority.

Mr. Robert Teer presented each board member with a plaque commemorating the Complete 540 transaction and support of the board members.

Actions Taken

A motion to adjourn the February 6, 2020 Board of Directors meeting was unanimously approved upon a call for motion from Vice Chairman Safran moved by Robert Teer and seconded by Scott Aman. The motion was approved unanimously. Vice Chairman Safran declared the meeting adjourned.